WordFactory Logo

Read more News here

Winners of ‘Fables for a Modern World Short Story Competition’

Neil-Gaiman-Photo-Credit-Kimberly-Butler Word Factory is delighted to announce the winners of their Fables for a Modern World short story competition.

Ten stories were selected from over a hundred entries inspired by the following lines, written for the Word Factory by internationally renowned author Neil Gaiman: Long ago, in the days when there were still fish in the oceans and cars on the roads, there lived a woman who was not afraid of governments…

The fables were judged by Word Factory director Cathy Galvin and author Toby Litt.

Cathy Galvin commented: “The announcement of these winning stories could not be more timely. Fables touch on the epic nature of myth in our lives, offering a sense of what being fully human means and how we can realise our more noble expectations. The writers of these winning fables also reflect the current debate about what it is government offers people. Congratulations!”

Toby Litt said: “For me, thinking about how I’d have written a Gaiman-inspired fable, the most challenging words in his opening line were ‘not afraid’. What would that sort of fearlessness or self-confidence look like? What manner of woman would possess it? What kind of world would she live in? The best of these fables – and the best are very good – come up with some delightful, moving and original answers to those questions.”

The ten winners were announced officially at the Word Factory salon at Waterstones Piccadilly on Saturday 19th at a reading with Toby Litt, Jerwood Fiction Uncovered and Frank O’Connor international short story award prize-winner Carys Davies, Diriye Osman and Tyler Keevil.

Word Factory is the UK’s leading promoter of short fiction. The winning fables will be published on the Word Factory website and considered for a new Word Factory anthology in 2016. Winners will all be able to attend Word Factory salon events for free for a year.

The winners are:
Lela Tredwell: Biffle
Anna Nazarova-Evans: Big Blue Eyes
Carmen Thompson: Bight Tomcat and the Moon
Evgenia Citkowitz: Dominion
David Macpherson: Mutually Assured Destruction
Gita Ralleigh: Oceantown Resort
Gill Fryzer: The Basket Weaver’s Tale
Rod Griffiths: The Ghost’s Story
Mab Jones: The Seamstress
Bethan James: Una Ivanovna and the Mayor

Read more News here